MAYA NEW YEAR – WAXAJQIB B’AATZ (8 B’aatz)

8 Monkey/CHUEN (8 B'aatz)

8 Monkey/CHUEN (8 B’aatz)

Greetings Kin,

Happy Maya New Year!

Dog/OC has guided us over a threshold to a new experience of God’s Love. God IS Love. Our Feeling of Love is the very presence of God within us. The physical universe of who we are is God’s chosen domain.

8 Monkey/CHUEN (8 B’aatz) reminds us that we were each born as an Expression of the Creator, vibrating to a unique energy, with a unique purpose that is only known between ourselves and God. Together as One we are the whole universe of God. Our whole life purpose is a journey to this Divine Discovery.

We ALL stand in our most Perfect Position as God knows our next step forward. The beauty created by the Monkey, Master of all Arts, is the complete picture of how our lives are all woven together on this journey… each bringing something worthy that is needed by the other.

A relationship with the God Spirit living within us is our Free Will to choose. In the end, we will all fall to our knees when we know the Fullness of God for we see only a small part of the Whole.  Only when we are released from the illusion of our physical vessel will we experience the full knowledge of God.

My Story with the Tzolk’in Calendar…

new year fire 2016-blog

The New Year Fire burns for all of us!

8 Monkey/CHUEN is a very special day for me as the end of a long journey. My spiritual path is the result of many years of seeking my own Truth to find a relationship with God. I found myself in a very dark place in 2009. As I celebrated my 60th birthday, I felt unloved, unwanted, and with no understood purpose for being. Depression has been a reality I have struggled with in my life, but this seemed a low beyond all lows. I had no direction and I didn’t know how to find one. In spite of all the spiritual tools I’d been given, I was lost in total darkness… thousands of miles from my Medicine Circle back home.

As Minisa completed her book “Spirit Talk” I was encouraged to take up a dedicated daily practice. I wanted to know the joy Minisa was experiencing. After a year of keeping a Spirit Talk journal on a semi-regular basis, I could see a new Light opening to me. In September 2015 I celebrated my 65 birthday. It was a lunar eclipse and Jupiter (the planet of expansion and good fortune) moved into my sign of Virgo. After so many years in darkness, this was a glimmer of hope.

The Seed of Intention I planted at my birthday was for a re-awakening of my own Spirit. I was desperate… willing to do anything. I committed to journal the calendar every single day, and to paint the glyph for good measure. I wanted a challenge that would stretch me and be the evidence that I was giving it my all.

Over the following weeks, I moved my writing to the blog. How vulnerable I was knowing someone from work was a follower from the old blog content. I share this because that’s where I was – afraid of sharing who I was. I “accidently” committed myself to sharing the 21-day Gratitude Ceremony – not knowing what I would offer on Day 2. The 4th Day of that Ceremony was 8 Monkey/CHUEN, 8 B’aatz, The Mayan New Year. 4 Days of Sacred Ceremony WILL change your life.

I realized that in all the years of calling myself a Daykeeper, I had never fully committed to all 260 Days. It was the revelation that this was indeed the path I was now following. In the silence and solitude of my alone-ness, I initiated myself that day with a commitment to journal the new Tzolk’in round, the full 260 Days, sharing my journal and paintings of the glyphs.

As 8 Monkey/CHUEN greets me again, I celebrate a transformation that has brought into unity all the lessons of a lifetime. This will always be remembered as the most important year of my life.

I Love you… each of you who have visited this blog and read my journal have been my reason to keep going. What I have been unsure of whether I could do for myself, I could do for you.

As part of remembering my beginning, my original New Year’s Post will be re-published from October 18, 2015. This was the day of a life-changing commitment and my first step in faith to a count of 260 days.

And so we stand in a new beginning. Another year is completed as we honor every Human and the Ancestors that preserved this ancient wisdom, so that we might learn to walk in a good way, and so that we can experience the joy and happiness of being that was the intention of our Creator.

It is my time to pass the sacred torch to you. The Elders have given us the sacred charge to be the new daykeepers who write the new calendars. May we remember where we started and revisit the silence and solitude of inner reflection that we might know where Spirit would lead us.  A daily journal can become the documentation of an awakening and a reference to special memories that could otherwise be lost to time.

There is a tradition among Daykeepers in the Spirit of Lak’ech. When we greet the Sun in the morning, as we receive the Light, we remember the Daykeepers in the East who have already greeted this dawn. And at sunset, we turn to the West. As we release the cares of the day, we send our Love forward on the Sun in the Spirit of In Lak’ech to the Daykeepers in the West, yet waiting for the dawn.

May your joy be multiplied to abundance as you walk the year ahead. As a new sunrise dawns, may you know that my Love in Lak’ech is sent around to you on the Sun.

HAPPY MAYAN NEW YEAR!!!

in lak’ech, i am another you

Jaguar Woman, 9 Eagle/MEN

Guatemalan Sacred FireNEW YEAR PAGE: My offering for the Mayan New Year, 8 Monkey/CHUEN (July 4) is a meditation for those seeking ways to connect with our ancient ancestors. The meditation includes the Count of Days that is an element of the Fire Ceremonies that will be held by the Maya on the New Year. Also included are traditional ways and chants used to honor the 4 directions taken from the tradition of the Sacred Medicine Wheel path.  in lak’ech, Debra/Jaguar Woman

CEREMONY PAGE: Updated with New Year Observances
Minisa Crumbo Halsey offers a message for the trecena of Seed/KAN from the sacred Medicine Wheel tradition.

IN MEMORY:
I share this personal victory with two of my best friends who now hold a torch from the other side. Both were chosen sisters whose passing was a terrible loss, though I know at this time they are smiling and we will see each other again.

Sending Love Beyond Time and Space, Debra

Darlene, Chosen Sister and Black Jaguar

Darlene, Chosen Sister and Black Jaguar

Darlene was my split-twin Spirit. No two were ever so different to find such common ground for a relationship. Darlene accepted me unconditionally. We found joy in shared company that felt like family. Darlene passed in November of 2008. The night she died I was painting a black jaguar which will forever call memories of the love of this chosen sister. Darlene and I walked together on the Medicine path in Oklahoma. (Her light shines so bright, even in the last days of her journey through cancer.)

 

Theresa Marie Gandhi

Theresa Marie Gandhi & Shaktipaw

 

Theresa was a close friend and influence. She reminded me that all sorrows should, in the end, be resolved with a giggle. Theresa passed in January 2010. She was first to introduce me to the Mayan Calendar in 1998, though at the time, it looked way too complicated. I was years along in my Mayan path before I even remembered she was a part of it. She was a friend who never said “you should.”

Her companion, Shaktipaw, passed in the following year and now their ashes rest together in Puget Sound where she spent so many years of her life as a Voice to Power in the role of environmental activist.

 

18 thoughts on “MAYA NEW YEAR – WAXAJQIB B’AATZ (8 B’aatz)

  1. Beautifully written, Debra. Thank you for sharing your Tzolkin Journey with us and for the inspiration to explore our own paths as modern day Day Keepers, as a transformation and healing process for the benefit of (The) All. Happy Mayan New Year!
    In Lak’ech
    Jacques

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year back! The daily journal can be so helpful. Minisa is always talking about looking back to what I was doing 6 months ago. It’s been such a support to be able to see written evidence that I AM moving forward, and that my intentions are working. in lak’ech, with love, Debra

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so grateful that you shared your story. I am a Guatemalan Day keeper, and I live now in Lake Atitlán, in a village called Tzununá (water hummingbird). My Path has been a lonely learning in solitude, as I don´t see my guide that often. He introduced me to the knowledge from the Maya Quiché tradition and then, I had to keep going, learning with my own experience.

    I found your blog some months ago, and felt connected, even as there are some differences in the way each lineage preserves the wisdom. But at the end, everything connects. This last couple of months I went through what some people call “The Dark Night of the Soul”, and reading your daily Posts, has helped me so much to go through this hard moment. It reminds me of what you mention here, a day keeper must commit to all 260 Days and learn to observe carefully what each day’s energy brings to your Personal experience that ends being everyone’s experience.

    Now I know why I felt so connected to your blog, and it is because it comes from your heart. Blessings to you and thank you for sharing your wisdom and the wisdom of many other people through you.

    Like

    • Jen, That is such a blessing to share with me on this day. I have such a heart for the people in Guatemala and the beautiful tradition of the Maya. I hope you will PLEASE feel free to share alternative perspectives and customs – it would be so meaningful to me. I’m honored to have you here. Someday I hope to visit Lake Atitlán and see all this beauty for myself. I’ll look on the map and hope I can figure out where you are. in lak’ech, Debra

      Like

    • Hi Jen, I know all the day keepers who follow would love to hear something from your tradition. We all don’t have easy access to traditional teaching as they are passed down by the Maya. If there is something you might like to share as a teaching, I would be honored to post it. Everyone would benefit greatly from what you could offer. I’m eager to know what you might share. Much love, in lak’ech, Debra

      Like

  3. Happy Maya New Year! Such a journey you have been on and how you have grown and transformed from it. I understand when you say you were concerned because a co-worker followed your blog. I have co-workers who follow mine and I sometimes pause before posting giving them consideration. Very brave of you to go forth anyways as this was for you and I know you are proud that you did! Thanks for your inspiration!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

